Please help... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 10-31-2006, 07:50 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Please help...

I'm new to the planted aquarium hobby, but I'm really into it, and I have been looking online, for the best things in terms of equipment, and everything. I am clueless even after a 6 month search. I am planning on buying a 58 gallon oceanic. I want to know the best filter, I was thinking fluval 405, but i've heard good and bad things, also heaters. I heard ebo jager is the best, true? I don't know what media, substrate, fertilizer, how my maintainence schedule should be. how to gravel vac to avoid plant casualties. how often I should change media, the best way to change media w/out killing bacteria. what kind of CO2 if it is neccissary, lighting, anything. I saw the transformation on scolly's tank, and im hoping for the same for me. Please help...

anything that i am missing that i should know would be very helpful too.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 10-31-2006, 08:35 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (21/100%)
Start buying stuff and learn as you go. Get your tank, filter, heater and substrate first. Fluval 405 is fine. Check out AquaSoil, Flourite, ane EcoComplete for substrates, or go with one of the other options if you want to save some money the first time around. Get all that up and running, then start worrying about dosing ferts and what your maintenance schedule should be. After 6 months of searching you should have more than enough knowledge to get the basics started.
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old 10-31-2006, 08:37 PM
Everyone has an opinion

PTrader: (88/100%)