New to tanks. Planning 75 G planted. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-23-2006, 12:09 AM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (15/100%)
Send a message via MSN to CrazyMidwesterner
New to tanks. Planning 75 G planted.

Hello,

First off let me just say this forum is an amazing resource and I have been reading it a lot ;-)

I am completely new to aquariums/fish tanks and am jumping in head first. I purchased a 75 Gallon 48X18X21 inch aquarium and plan on having a planted freshwater aquarium.

For lights I have 240 watts of regular output t12 lamps 6500K.

I am thinking of purchasing a Rena Filstrar XP3 for filtration. Any comments or suggestions on that?

I plan on using pressurized Co2 and was planning on using a rex style reactor because of the simple design and esecially because it keeps the hardware out of the tank. I used to play paint ball so was thinking about using the paintball cylinder for co2 but was curious how long they lasted. Anyone use a paintball cylinder for co2? If so what size tank and about how long does it last you?

I plan on using a 300 watt inline heater again to keep the hardware out of the tank. Lastly I was thinking about buying a plant starter kit from Aqua Botanic Aquarium Plants Sales and Forums or a similiar site. Is this recomended or should I buy individually.

Lastly, I plan on stocking the aquarium with many small fish. I'll plan on starting a journal and posting pics as I go. It'll be a slow process as this hobby isn't cheap ;-) Any comment or suggestions would be aprecciated !!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 10-23-2006, 12:27 AM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (9/100%)