new to planted tanks--need some ideas - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-21-2006, 11:18 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
new to planted tanks--need some ideas

I've just decided to put a 12g planted tank at my desk at work. I've been doing reef tanks for a few years now, so I have a pretty good knowledge of aquarium basics. However, this will be a big change for me in that I won't have fancy equipment as this is just going to be a desktop tank. My current reef tank has 846W of MH lighting, chillers, self cleaning filters, and, believe it or not, a modified dialysis machine for filtration. My desktop is going to be a basic Aquapod 12g with 64W of PC lights and that's about it, so it's a huge change for me.

My question is a pretty broad one as, again, I'm new to this aspect of aquariums. Does anyone have a good recommendation for plants and fish that would be low on maintainance but great on looks? I know that the two do not go together with reef tanks, but I'm hoping that this will be a little easier to grasp.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2006, 12:46 AM
Wannabe Guru

Welcome to the planted tank

64 watts is a lot of light for a 12 gallon tank. If you want a simple tank I would decrease the light to 24 watts (2wpg). This way it will be considered low light/low maintenance tank. It is always best to start out low then increase light as you learn more about the hobby.

As far as plants any low light plants will be easy and low maintenance. Like Anubias, Crypts & Java fern.

Most any small fish would work well in a 12G tank, just what ever you find interesting.

He who angers you, controls you!
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 10-22-2006, 12:53 AM Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by trenac View Post
Welcome to the planted tank