New planted tank; please give feedback (pics!) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-21-2006, 12:32 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New planted tank; please give feedback (pics!)

Hi everyone, this is my first attempt at a planted tank. It is a 15 gallon with an AC30 filter (lowest setting), hagen CO2 system, 65w powercompact with night light, and ecocomplete substrate.

The glass is covered in hair algae, but I just added 2 otos last night. Hopefully they will do a good job at cleaning it (they have already made my crypts spotless!).

Here is my Anubias 'nana' added yesterday.

Lobelia Cardinalis, added 3 weeks ago. All of the small leaves are new growth, and each node seems to be sending a shoot downward. I plant to cut and propagate this until it fills this corner.

This is a dwarf lilly I have been having problems with. It makes a new leaf every 3 days or so, but I have had to remove 1 leaf so far and one more to come. I initially only partially buried the bulb, but the roots were unable to get to the substrate, so I recently buried it completely.

Red Ludwigia, added yesterday. I initially added all of them bunched up like they came from the store, but today I spaced them out a bit to give a little more breathing room.

Crypt Wendtii 'tropica' added 3 weeks ago. I was most concerned about this one because of "Crypt rot." However, it seems to have taken well and the otos cleaned up a bunch of brown algae that had accumulated on the leaves.

Finally, here is some dwarf hairgrass. I split up the bunch as instructed by the guy who sold it to me. This seems to be growing well, and there is a lot of new growth. The tips of some of the longer blades are brown, though. Is this brown algae as well?

I have been fertilizing weekly with Flourish, about 1/4 capful or approx. 1ml. Please give me any aquascaping/plant care tips you may wish to share. Thanks!

Sorry for the long post.

Gino
Sponsored Links