Newbie setup questions? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-13-2013, 04:54 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie setup questions?

This is my first post as a complete newbie to fish keeping, please escuse me if this is posted in the wrong thread and feel free to move it. My wife has kindly bought me a Fluval Edge 23L (halogen bulb) tank, which came with 5 Neon tetras (which unfortunaltey due to a algae problem, that now seems to have subsided we only have 4), nothing like being thrown in at the deep end.

The tank came with some multi-coloured gravel (which is not to my taste) and plastic plants (which I would like to change for real ones). The lights and filter are the standard and the heater that it came with the Fluval Edge didn't work, so I have bought a Fluval E 50w which is doing really well.

My plan is to slwoly but surely add the following:

Fish
5 Neon Tetras (I already have 4, but want to make sure they are happy and have read this should be the minimum)
5 Galaxy Rasobras
4 Red Cherry Shrimp

Plants
Java Moss (for carpeting)
Java Fern (on driftwood)
Anubias Bateri (on driftwood)

Is this combination of fish compatable and is it to much?
Which substrate would be best (I would preffer something either light or dark, prefferably sand)?
Do I need to add additional chemicals for the plants?
Do I need better lighting, if so what would be good and prefferably keeping the fixings as standard as possible)?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-14-2013, 06:26 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (1/100%)
im very new to this but i hope i can help a bit:

you can use this to help with the fish stocking/compatibility
http://www.aqadvisor.com/
also if there is specific fish you can search the forum or google

substrate - sand pool filter sand (light) or flourite sand, comes in black
substrate info - https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=153412