155 gallon bowfront - design advice? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-08-2006, 06:06 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
155 gallon bowfront - design advice?

hey i'm a newbie to the whole planted freshwater thing but certainly not to aquariums in general. Below is a picture of my current 125 gallon reef. Now on to the purpose of my post . . .

I have been volunteering for a local elementary school by maintaining a 155 gallon bow front marine reef. The system was purchased from a local pet store but was poorly designed and has caused nothing but headaches since. The pet store was maintaining the tank at first but were soon fired by the PTO. That's where I come in. I've finally convinced them to go to a freshwater plant/fish display. I believe it will much easier to maintain versus the saltwater system in a school setting. (I was lugging plastic gas containers full of salt/RO water back and forth from my house for the last 2 years!). Basically I would like recommendations on substrate, lighting, filtration, fertilization, and livestock (plantstock?). I'd like to reuse as much as possible from the old tank. I have a pair of 250watt metal halides (i'd replace those bulbs with bulbs suitable/recommended for freshwater plants - any ideas?), 4 - 400gph powerheads, wet/dry filter, 2400gph magdrive submersible pump, 2 built-in corner overflows, 2 3/4" returns, a 3/4 HP chiller, etc. The biggest thing is that I want to ensure that I do not develop algae. I know you will probably recommend a CO2 injector . . . that's fine . . . what type? So yeah . . . I'm very familiar with aquariums just not plants . . . thanks in advance for any help!

~ matt

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 09-08-2006, 06:20 PM
Wannabe Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by melas View Post