pH, Buffers, CO2 and the wild world of plants. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-13-2006, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (8/100%)
pH, Buffers, CO2 and the wild world of plants.

I'm new to the hobby, still trying to feel my way around, and since I started my first aquarium 2 months ago in May, I've been getting conflicting information about pretty much every aspect of the hobby. That said, I also found out a few days ago that the pH test I've been using is bad. My first tank, the 10g is cycled, my second tank, a 50g isn't cycled yet and is showing a decent amount of algae growth. Now that there's a little background, time to get to the meat of my problems and questions:

1) I've been using Seachem's Neutral Regulator pH 7.0 when I do water changes. This was recommended to me by my lfs, and I figured that since they also do planted tanks that I could take their advice, regardless of what was on the bottle. After more research and reading, I don't think this was good advice and I think I want to control my pH with CO2 and more natural means if possible. My tap water pH is at least 7.6 (though testing it on my high pH, which I don't trust since it was in the same kit as the bad low pH test, is about 8.4), the kH is 0ppm (if I can trust my kit) and the GH is 30ppm (again, if I can trust my kit). I'm thinking I should move away from the Neutral Regulator things and start using Stress Coat (to remove chlorine), and Seachem's Liquid Acid Buffer and Liquid Alkaline Buffer to lower my pH instead of phosphate based products. Is this the right approach?