New to the planted tank world - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2006, 01:54 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to the planted tank world

As the title suggests, I am new to the planted tank world, and before I actually put any water in the tank, I just want to list out a few things, and random questions, to see what you guys think.
First off my tank is a 37 gallon.

For lighting I will be using two 65W PC lights, one 6700K, 1 10,000K can I really run these bulbs until they die, or should I replace once a year? Also should both bulbs be 6700K?

For substrate I am going to use Eco-Complete.

For filtration I have an Emporer 280 with Bio Wheel.

I am going to run pressurized CO2 with a Hagen bubble diffuser. How many bubbles a second, should I plan on starting out with? Is my assumption wrong to check PH after the first few days, and increase CO2 if PH is high, and decrease if PH is low.

What PH am I shooting for as optimal?

Should I run CO2 only when lights are off, or all the time?

Can I use tap water for filling the tank, or is RO/DI neccesary or better?

When I start the tank up, after I let it run it about 24 hours, how many plants should I use, and how many fish?

Also what types of plants are best for starting a tank?
Thanks for the help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-09-2006, 02:25 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (84/100%)