New Member: Please help with Moneywort - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 07:43 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New Member: Please help with Moneywort

This is my first post here and I'm new to planted tanks. I'm trying to decide what I should do with my Moneywort. The tank has been planted for 3 weeks. I replanted the moneywort like three times before I felt like I did it right. The moneywort has been replanted for a little over one week now and it is starting to grow. I planted the Moneywort in the back of the tank and some of the stems have melted and died. I have a 10 gal with two 10 watt CFLs and the lights are on 12 hours a day. I'm trying to figure out if I should change my lighting or just replace the plant with a low light plant.

I have a Lily bulb blooming and I know it will eventually cause a lot of shade. In addition, I'm waiting on the frog bit that I ordered to add to the tank. I want the tank to be somewhat shady because eventually I'm going to add a Betta. In addition, I want to add a couple of plants in front of the Moneywort. My question is do I need to add more light? Will it be enough light if I have floating plants anyway? Will I even be able to put other plants in front of the Moneywort if I increased my lights?

At this point I'm hesitant to take the plant out because I don't want to disrupt the balance of the tank and have another algae out break. I already have brown algae on my DIY cave and sword plant. I took the cave out and rinsed it, but it did not come off. Only some of it came off the plant.

I appreciate any help you can give

Donetta
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tank.JPG
Views:	146
Size:	146.6 KB
ID:	122826  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-10-2013, 07:47 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (177/100%)
do you know if those cfl bulbs are full spectrum (6500k) or standard cfl's (3000k)...