Sunset Hygro - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-10-2003, 02:36 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (3/100%)
The upper leaves of my Sunset Hygro have gone from green to redóas is normal under high lightóbut they have now turned to an almost olive-green-tan. Is this normal for a Sunset Hygro? (The lower leaves of this plant are either the stock green at the very bottom or the characteristic red a bit higher up the stems.) It is in a ten gallon tank with CO2 and slightly more than 5.6 WPG. All the leaves of this plant pearl quite prodigiously, so it is not as if the plant is not photosynthesizing but I am wondering if 56ishW is perhaps too intense for this plant.

Any information is appreciated.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-10-2003, 05:20 AM
PT Biologist

PTrader: (4/100%)
Try adding some iron and potassium to the water column.

Sean

Aquascape? I'm a crypt farmer.

It's a fine line between fishing and standing on the shore looking like an idiot.

That IS an aquascape, it's titled "The Vacant Lot".
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-10-2003, 05:07 PM

PTrader: (0/0%)
I have gone back to using a tiny bit of Excel in the tank, in spite of the CO2 I use, something in the Excel keeps the iron available to the sunset hygor much longer. It actually works better than adding iron.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 11-10-2003, 05:19 PM
Are these real?

PTrader: (195/100%)
It could well be the result of too much light. I noticed in my 10 gal tank that the leaves on the surface (close to the blinding 10W bulbs :shock would take on the color you described, while the ones at substrate level were showing the nice red/green with pink veins color.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.