how to determine K rating for lights - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-13-2006, 10:11 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
how to determine K rating for lights

hi guys ive been told and found out a lot of times that the K rating for lights are critical and correct me if im wrong but as far as ive researched, 65000K is the best but how do we know what K rating our light are currently giving off?

im currently using 2 osram 23 wats compact floursecent light over my 10 gallon tank
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-13-2006, 10:42 AM
nik

well, I'm not an expert myself, so hopefulle someone else comes along soon...

As I understand it, it's not really the K-rating that matters, but the wavelength. Chrorophyll a absorbs light in the red spectrum, about 660nm and chlorophyll b in the blue spectrum, about 470nm. I can't remember the numbers excactly. In addition, some algae contain chlorophyll c, but I can't remember the absorbtion spectrum for that. b and c are accessory pigments, so the light absorbed from these need to be transferred to chrorofyll a molecules for photosynthesis.

Anyway, the K-rating can be used to approximate how good the light is for plants, ie if it contains much of the correct wavelenghts. The higher the rating, the "cooler" the light seems. What you're aiming for (I think) is 5500K +. If the bulbs are not marked with kelvin, they are often marked as "warm" or "cold" light. The "warm" light is usually 2700K and the "cold" 4000K. If you haven't bought the bulbs specifically for plants, it is likely that they have one of these ratings. And so, you probably want to search for bulbs with higher rating. I've never seen cf lights above 6700K, but this should be fine.

Hope this helps, and that someone who knows more chimes in...
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-13-2006, 11:23 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (7/100%)