turtle in a plant tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-06-2006, 05:59 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
turtle in a plant tank

Hi i'm new to all this plant tank. I wanted to know if it was possible to have turtles in a planted tank? Can some one get back to me on this? thanks for your help on this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-06-2006, 08:02 PM

It is Ok when they are little. When they gets big enough, the size will definitely cause problem to plants plus adult turtles poop big. It also depends on the species, some of them won't bother plants. Some turtles are able to catch fishes, such as Snake neck turtle. I have 2 Japanese stone turtle less than 1 year old, and I keep snails, shrimps and fishes in the tank without problem.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-06-2006, 08:45 PM Thread Starter

thanks for your help on this now i can get started with the tank. one more question will the CO2 effect them in any way? and also what i plan to get is a red ear slider

post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-06-2006, 09:14 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (36/100%)
Send a message via AIM to JenThePlantGeek
I'm not sure about the CO2 affecting them, but my initial reaction is that, since they don't breath through gills, it won't hurt them. CO2 + H2O does produce carbonic acid though, which is why the pH lowers. This isn't going to be bad unless you manage to get your pH well below safe (~3, which I'm not sure is possible actually!). The lowest I've ever accidentally gotten mine is 6.2.

Also pyro, I don't know about Jersey, but in Indiana it is illegal to buy and sell native species (i.e. red ear sliders). The DNR is cracking down pretty hard because people collect them, deplete the natural population, and then sell them. This is something you might want to double check.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.