Holes in my new Swords / Plants - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-31-2013, 04:33 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Holes in my new Swords / Plants

Hi,

I have recently added some new plants to my tank because I upgraded to pressurized Co2.

I am very new to planted tanks and am realizing it's a lot harder than I thought to maintain a lush healthy planted tank but well worth it.... I have a lot of respect and admiration for all of you with those full and vibrant planted tanks!

The problem I am having now is that my Queen Sword and Amazon Sword plants are getting holes in their leaves aswell as one other plant...

Here is my setup:

- 65 Gallon: 36" Long x 24" Height x 18" Depth
- Dual T5HO Lights: 1 Bulb 6,500k The other 10,000k
- Pressurized Co2 with Glass Diffuser which bubbles up to spray bar and Maxi-jet 400 circulation pump. Tiny bubbles fill the whole aquarium and there is great circulation through the tank.
- Dosing with Seachem Line Liquid Ferts: Flourish, Potassium, Phosphorous and Nitrates
- I have dry ferts but got the liquids first and thought it would be easier to dose as per instructions on a bottle as I started.
- Filtration is Rena XP3 and Aquaclear 70

I tried some lower light easier plants to start with 6 months ago. Some Java Fern and Anubias... I wasn't dosing Macro ferts and only used Flourish & Excel liquid carbon. I had some nasty Black Beard Algae (what i thought it was) that covered everything! Walls, rocks, wood, plants... It was nasty... I took out all decorations, to clean them, cut all leaves back that were covered and realized I was probably screwing up by not dosing proper ferts and not having enough or real co2... Hopefully that problem is gone but we shall see as time goes on...

Now that I have all the proper equipment and ferts, I bought lots of new plants and don't want to lose them!