Newbie here with scary cycling issues - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-21-2006, 02:26 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Unhappy Newbie here with scary cycling issues

It's been a few years since I've had an aquarium, and I always had very low-maintenance tanks in the past and never even knew about cycling. I've now jumped in head first with my new 20 gallon tank. Here's my timeline:

Day 1: Took all of the gravel from my month-old, assumedly fully cycled, 2g tank and added them to my new 20g, wrongly assuming that would get the bacteria bed completely set up almost instantly.
Day 3: Added 1 betta splendens, 1 java moss
Day 10: Added 3 African Dwarf Frogs, 4 hair grass
Day 14: Added 3 black neon tetras and 3 glolight tetras
Day 20: Added an additional 3 black neon tetras and 3 glolight tetras
Day 35: Finally found out I needed test kits
Test results:
Nitrite - Off the chart, slightly greater than 10ppm!
Nitrate - 30ppm
Hardness - 150gh
Alkalinity - 40
PH - 7
Ammonia - 0

Since seeing that my nitrite's are seriously endangering my fish I've consistently done 25-30% water changes daily with very little effect for about a week. I tested conditioned tap water and it was fine. Last night I added Phos-X to my filter after the suggestion from my LFS. This morning my test results were nearly identical, with nitrite's only dropping marginally, still off the charts. I've searched for Bio-Spira but can't find it anywhere and just don't have the money right now to order online and pay outrageous shipping.

Any suggestions would -really- be appreciated, I'm worried about my fish!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-21-2006, 02:35 PM

PTrader: (28/100%)
Welcome to planted tank, but i'm wondering if this is the right forum for you. We generally discuss topics related to freshwater aquariums with live plants.