Pimp My Aquarium - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-12-2006, 07:03 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Pimp My Aquarium

I'm pretty new to aquarium plants, although I've learned a lot reading and talking to others. My planted tank has been setup for 3 months, but so far I've never really got to a point where it looks 'good'.

I need suggestions on plant growing/care in general or any tips on anything. Tis the season for tax returns and I'm looking for some advice.

Currently I have the following plants:
Bacopa Colorata
Jungle Valisneria
Water Wisteria
Hornwort (trying to phase it out)
Glosso Stigmata

and the following fish:
1 small angelfish
3 zebra danios
1 clown plecostomus
A small army of bladder snails who are currently reaping off my laziness to eradicate them

My tank specs are as follows:
29 gallon tank
60% Black Aquarium Gravel with 40% Eco-Complete on the bottom
Eheim 2213 Filter (ehifimech, course filter pad, ehifisubstrat, fine filter pad, Seachem's Purigen for water polishing)
Hagen DIY CO2 System (considering setting up a 2L bottle in addition or Flourish Excel)
65 Watt Sattelite PC Lighting (6500k/10000k Daylight Bulb)

I currently dose 20 ppm of Nitrate via KNO3, and 2 ppm of Phopshate via KH2PO4, along with .3 grams of CSM+B or recommended hit of Flourish. I also have a 500 ML bottle Excel I bought in January that still needs to be used. I used one hit of it, not too sure how it worked. I've been told that I should probably setup a new dosing regime with more macros and micros/traces along with perhaps dosing KSO4.

My water is realtively hard (about 7 degrees GH/KH).
Here's a picture. It's rather haphazard right now as I just put in some Wisteria I got for free from the LFS (they were trying to get rid of it). Next weekend I intend to drain the tank and re-aquascape so it doesn't look so haphazard. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated though!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement