Building The Beast - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-12-2006, 12:31 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (59/100%)
Building The Beast

Ok, so I am working on building my system. Yes I am a newby, but I am also a scientist, so my approach may be different than many. OK I would love some advice and direction, but so far this is what i have:

90 gal acryic SeaClear Show tank
Fluval 404 Canister
Milwaukee CO2 system with solenoid
Current 36" Metal Halide 150w + 96w x 2 actinide + 4 lunar

info or something missing? feel free to interject. I plan on going with flourite and dark 2mm substrate mix

HELP lol
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-12-2006, 12:39 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
There's no need for actinics on a planted tank. Though they might be pleasing aesthetically. Also, what's the color temp of the MH? 10K is nice.

What are the dimensions of the tank?

I've owned both Fluval and Filstar filters. Did not care for the Fluval. Not as easy to use as Filstar XP series.
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 03-12-2006, 12:46 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
Welcome to TPT fresh newby,

I'm not sure what you mean by taking a different approach, but there are several scientists that give great posts. I look forward to yours in the future.

I have a 90 gallon that I plan on starting in a month or so.

Just a small list off the top of my head that you may need:

digital camera
reactor/diffuser
check valve for CO2
CO2 proof tubing
thermometer
fertilizer
python or similar to change water
You're going to need alot of plants and ferts with that lighting.

Any ideas on flora or fauna? Are building your own stand and hood? Are the 96w bulbs PC and actinic in color?

Some of the experts will probably chime in and give some more advise.

Jeremy

55 gal., DIY stand, hood, rex reactor, & bubble counter, XP2, Coralife 65 X 4 w/remote ballast, flourite