What is the Perfect Lighting for a 120g planted tank? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-2006, 05:19 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
What is the Perfect Lighting for a 120g planted tank?

I'm sure that the lighting I have is just too much.

I have my old reef tank lighting over the tank, and I keep backing the lights off the tank, higher and higher.

So, I'm contemplating a change, but a change to what?

Tank is 4 foot long, 2 foot front to back and two feet tall.

(On the tank now is an aquaspacelight 2x250 HQI (MH) double ended 10K bulbs USHIO.)

I would like to hear your expert opinions. Thanks in advance, KW.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-2006, 05:30 PM

Welcome Karl.

I'm no expert but I can tell you that you're right about too much light. Try running just one of them, 250w is enough and the colour is good.
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-11-2006, 07:48 PM

PTrader: (1/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian
Welcome Karl.

I'm no expert but I can tell you that you're right about too much light. Try running just one of them, 250w is enough and the colour is good.

That is not going to work. One end of the tank would be lit and the other would not.

How about swapping out for some 150w bulbs? Not for sure that would be possible with your ballasts, but worth looking into. That would still be quite a bit of light, but much more manageable.

post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-12-2006, 12:03 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

My opinion is that the perfect amount of light is the amount that you want to keep up with. My first planted tank was a 30 gallon with 60 Watts of NO flourescents. And by and large it went very well. Not able to keep everything, but stuff grew.