first time planted, 55g, newbie questions! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-10-2006, 07:26 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
first time planted, 55g, newbie questions!

Hi,

This is my first time posting, and first off I'd like to say that I've read and learned a lot from this site, and that everyone writes such informative and helpful posts! I've been able to avoid posting questions by searching through the archives and reading various guides (i.e., Rex Grigg's site), but I was hoping that you guys can help me out a bit.

I'm about to set up a standard 55g, on which I plan to install:
lighting: ahsupply 2x55 PC's
CO2: pressurized via the inline reactor
fert: NPK+micros.

Do you guys think that I can get away with dosing macros/micros once a week with this amount of light? I'm guessing it all depends on how densely I'm planting? I was hoping that that 2wpg will slow the uptake just enough for weekly dosing. What is the general consensus for the safest single dose of NO3 that won't harm fish?

I'm living with my parents right now but I anticipate being out of here within a year. When that time comes, can i wean the tank off co2 and ferts without changing the lighting? I'd like to leave them with a low-maintenence tank where all they have to do is feed the fish, and I come in to do water changes when needed (Diana Walstad type tanks).

Thanks everyone!
-Raymond
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-10-2006, 07:43 PM
Planted Member

PTrader: (2/100%)
Hi Ramond and welcome to planted tank.

You may want to look at auto dosing...if you've been reading everything like it sounds like you have, then you've probably came across several threads about this. I dose every day and it only takes about 2 minutes, literally.

When you move out you may need to sell alot of plants and make it low tech otherwise algae will probably insue.