• 1 Post By TDSapp

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-27-2006, 01:56 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Send a message via MSN to BumMonkey
Unhappy Simple comparison of CO2 delviery methods required

Hi,

this is my first post to the forum, so hello all
i have been reading and trying to absorb the absolute wealth of information that this forum provides but i need some things clarifying for me from one of you helpful experts.
I am pretty new to this hobby so excuse me if the answers are blindingly obvious.

i have two low tech planted tanks running with excel being added but no co2 injection, they seem to be doing fine so i think i have mastered the basics of getting plants to grow with suffcient light and a good substrate all ok with that.

Now i am trying to get my head around the technical bit of adding co2 to the water.

Firstly just let me check i have the premise of this correct from what ive read, adding c02 is benifitial, providing the tank has high enough light for it to be worth while which is something around the 3wpg mark?

If the light is say 2wpg is it still helpful to add co2?

the idea as i understand it is basically to get the co2 dissolved as well as possible into the water (ignoring for a minute the idea suggested by tom barr for the fine mist of co2 bubbles instead) What i want is some kind of basic explanation of what is the optimum method, and a comparison between the various ways of doing it.
I have read about using the ladders, or diffusion chambers of various design, or the ceramic disc and stuff and their various merits
To my admitedly very basic understanding of all this i dont see why i cant just feed co2 direct into the intake of my external canister filter?
im sure there is probably some critical reason why i shouldnt do this but not that i can see as yet.