New to this (a little help) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-25-2006, 08:49 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
New to this (a little help)

Ok Im still really new to plants in my tanks (unless you wount algae, if so im a freaking pro) but I picked up some plants for my tanks and since I was new im not sure what to do about this one thing.

I got some anacharis and it was bunched together with a heavy band on the bottom. is that band safe for my tanks or do I need to take it off?

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-25-2006, 09:17 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (11/100%)
Check out this site, and see if you have a clue about what to do.
http://www.aquariumfish.com/aquarium...=Plants&cid=58
It's very broad, but has a lot of information.
Quote:
I got some anacharis and it was bunched together with a heavy band on the bottom. is that band safe for my tanks or do I need to take it off?
You can keep it on if you want. non-toxic (as the puffer that's my avatar).
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-25-2006, 09:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by justterry
Ok Im still really new to plants in my tanks (unless you wount algae, if so im a freaking pro) but I picked up some plants for my tanks and since I was new im not sure what to do about this one thing.

Thanks in advance

Hi -- I was like you a year ago! Anacharis and Hornwort was my first 2 plants, and I still carry on today plants from those same clippings!!!

the heavy band is most likely lead, I remove it. I would plant each stem individually in the tank.