Oh so many questions from the Newbie!!! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-09-2003, 02:56 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Howdy Guys, im new to this forum, others may have seen me in various others on the web. Anyways, i have always been interested in aquriums, and especially having nice plants, but ofcourse i cant get them to grow. Now im a bit older i am looking more into the hobby and trying to hone some skills. So i have alot of questions on the planted tank.
My tank specs are as below, im a poor uni student with a small dorm room and little money, but want big things.
So let the questions begin.
Firstly, my tank has pure gravel, from research this isnt enough for a planted tank, i need flourite. But i cant find it, can you please give me all the alternatives that can be used instead, preferabbly something that comes from a local hardware store.
Second is lighting, oh my god am i confused with this whole kelvin scale. I am on my way to becoming a biochemist (give me another year) so i know plants absorb light most strongly in the red and blue spectrums, but most the bulbs dont give the spectrum, just kelvin rating. So what do i use, some say 6000K and others 9000, grrr. Currently i am using a sun glo 4200 K bulb at 15W in my normal desktop lamp. From reading this is enough wattage, 3wpg, but is the spectrum going to be enough???

Sorry if im getting too basic for u experienced plant aquariasts, but these questions need to be asked. If i have missed similar questions in the archives, just link me too them, i did look but i still gto confused with that damn heat scale.

ok thanx guys
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 10-09-2003, 03:58 PM
Are these real?

PTrader: (195/100%)
Welcome to the Tank...
Quote:
Originally Posted by grungefreek