Utricularia Gibba took over my hc carpet, what to do? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 04:55 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (4/100%)
Utricularia Gibba took over my hc carpet, what to do?

So I just found out today that what I thought was just weird side shoots growing out of my hc carpet was in fact an invasive plant called Utricularia Gibba. I've been letting it grow in there for almost two months now and it has now completely interwoven with my hc carpet. I attempted to remove it all by hand earlier and quickly realized that I would never be able to get all of it out, it is literally everywhere. Is the only solution now to get rid of my hc carpet? I was also wondering if anybody knew whether the Utricularia would inhibit the growth of the HC? Thanks for any help you can provide
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 04:59 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (177/100%)
This is an invasive plant which will wrap around things and smother it. Noth much you can do to remove without upsetting and potentially resetting your efforts at carpeting HC. sorry.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
"I am Groot", the faithful protector
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 05:08 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (4/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by acitydweller View Post
This is an invasive plant which will wrap around things and smother it. Noth much you can do to remove without upsetting and potentially resetting your efforts at carpeting HC. sorry.

Thanks for the quick response, thats what I thought Guess I will pull up the carpet and try and remove it all by hand and replant and start over. Guess this is a learning experience, next time if I ever see the stuff I'll know what it is

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 05:24 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)