Salt for freshwater, planted tanks - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-15-2005, 07:53 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Salt for freshwater, planted tanks

I am fairly new to planted tanks. Someone told me recently that adding non marine salt is beneficial for community fish. What would the effect be on my plants? Is there a dose that is good for the fish and the plants? Bill
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-15-2005, 08:32 PM
Algae Grower

Salt

It's generally accepted that salt is not great for plants. I add some, but tiny amounts compared to fish only tanks. I add maybe a teaspoon for a 20-gallon water change.

There's proably not the same need for salt that there is in a fish only tank. Salt is used as a sort of buffer and to prevent disease but in a planted tank there's lots of dissolved organic carbons that are acting the part of the buffer and the plants actually produce antibiotic like substances.

The fish are also a lot less stressed in a planted tank, ammonia is consumed by plants so it's not stressing the fish and the fish arn't so totally out in the open so there's less enviromental stress. There's less need for salt for many reasons. For a long time I never added any salt to my tank and never really had any problem with my fish.

The main problem is they live to long. I've had some of the same fish ( and shrimp) for many years. I'd like to get some new ones but the old ones never die.

Adam
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-16-2005, 01:34 AM
Wannabe Guru

A .10% salt level is safe for most plants. I maintain this level in my own tank. My Madagascar Lace grows like a weed.

post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-16-2005, 01:56 AM

But the PH/KH chart won't get you the correct ppm of CO2.
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-16-2005, 02:02 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tempUser
But the PH/KH chart won't get you the correct ppm of CO2.