HELP! I'm A NOOB In Over My Head! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 36 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 02:44 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Exclamation HELP! I'm A NOOB In Over My Head!

Hey Everyone!

Iíve been browsing these boards for awhile now, but this is my first post so go easy on me

Below are some pictures of my 55-gallon freshwater aquarium (sorry, I know they're not the best quality). Itís about 4 months old and my goal is to transform it into an aquatic jungle. This will be my first HEAVILY planted tank and Iím pretty excited, but I have a ton a questions.

Here is a list of some of my tank perimeters:
  • Size: 55-gallon, 4ft long
  • Lighting: 1 32-watt compact florescent + 6hrs(+) direct sunlight/day
  • Substrate: Newly converted from gravel to 1.5Ē peat moss topped with 2.5Ē pool filter sand (as of yesterday)
  • CO2: 3 DIY 2-liters
  • pH: 7.2 Ė 7.8
  • Water Temperature: 86 Degrees F
  • Water Hardness: ? I donít have a test kit for water hardness, but where I live we have VERY, VERY hard water because we are SURROUNDED with limestone. Before I added the CO2 the pH was around 8.7+ and it only dropped after adding the CO2. Iím expecting the peat moss of have an effect on the pH, but no changes yet.
  • Fertilizers: None yet, I need help with this one.
  • Current Plants: Anacharis, Jungle Val, & 1 Amazon Sword
As a noob to the planted tank thing (except for having Anacharis in every tank Iíve owned), I let myself get a little too excited and I dropped $100 on plants from aquariumplants.com a few days ago without carefully researching their compatibility with my tank or whatís required to successfully keep them growing (total impulse buy, I just couldnít help myself ). Now Iím afraid my tank wonít sustain the plants I bought. Here is a list of the plants I bought simply because they fit into my planted-tank image in my head:

∑ 3 of : Anubias, Nana (Anubias barteri v. Nana)