About ready to give up. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-21-2013, 08:42 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (2/100%)
About ready to give up.

I have had fish for a long time. I know what i am doing there. I am totally new to plants, and overall I am having some good luck. I decided to go high tech on my 75g so that I wasn't limited on plants in my tank, not to mention I love red plants.

2 weeks into co2 all my fish stopped eating and started to breathe very quickly. I lost all of them but some ottos and a pleco. I stopped co2 for about a month to get things back in order. I started co2 and got 2 german blue rams. Now fast forward two more weeks those same 2 german blue rams have stopped eating, and I lost two of my ottos. I stopped co2 yesterday.

I don't have a co2 indictator, but when this first happened I looked at my bps (2-3) and decided that when I started it again I would go lower. The last week it's been lower then 1 bps. I really love planted aquariums but I have done everything I can think of to make this work. All of my water levels are perfect. I modded one of my canister filter intakes to accommodate a surface skimmer and made one. My spray bars point upwards and break the waters surface. I guess I am just stumped. Not sure what to do now.

Fluval Flora Pimp #34, 40b Congo Puffer Tank,

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-21-2013, 09:07 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (3/100%)
Patience :-)
I do not use a bubble counter or a soilinoid. I use a decent needle valve and shove the co2 tubing up my canisters intake.i can see the bubbles flowing up the intake. I simply start low ....and i have found for myself that pressure is best at just above 5 on the primary gauge of the regulator. 8