Advice on a tank from scratch. (substrate & filtration stage) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 38 (permalink) Old 09-23-2005, 02:31 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (20/100%)
Advice on a tank from scratch. (substrate & filtration stage)

This is my first attempt at planning out a tank. My 55 gallon was more a gradual evolution from knowing nothing.

So far, I only have the tank...

So the next logical step would be the substrate.

I'm thinking about going with ADA Aqua Soil Africana simply because it's the only brown stuff I know of that should be easy to plant in. I also want the look of soil and since this tank is roughly 10 gallons this is an affordable opportunity to try the stuff. The Power Sand is an added cost I'd like to avoid.

Does Power Sand have any advantage over a thin layer of peat and mulm?

After I get the substrate in place I'll be looking for a very small canister filter. So far, I'm leaning towards the smallest Eheim Ecco. What do you think? I really don't want to spend a lot but I hate HOTB filters.

Any advice or comments?

"Insanity: doing [or asking] the same thing over and over again and expecting different results."

Last edited by random_alias; 09-23-2005 at 07:10 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 38 (permalink) Old 09-23-2005, 02:50 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (125/100%)
I like that tank, were did you find it if I may ask? my little 10 is fugly, blue seems with black frame, bah...

Not sure about the amazonia, but I have Flora Base sub with peat and can grow anything, especially the softwater plants

Craig

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 38 (permalink) Old 09-23-2005, 02:58 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Quote:
Originally Posted by WfxXx
I like that tank, were did you find it if I may ask?