29 gal, planning... - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 09-13-2005, 12:00 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
29 gal, planning...

Hallo everyone I am completely new to aquarium planting. I recently saw some amazing photos of planted aquariums, and I just couldn't resist taking on the challenge! In a nutshell... I've basically been obsessing over researching types of plants, conditions, lighting, etc, and I'm to the point where I'm actually drawing diagrams or "floorplans" of my future setup:

Very basic, but it helps me stay organized. My tank is a tropical (80*F) 29 gal, 30" X 12" X 17" and the picture above is just a basic start at what I am looking to create. I am trying to find good information for hardy plants that don't require too demanding of light conditions (medium-low preferably). The "grass" in the front I was thinking of microsword or dwarf hairgrass, however I've heard from several different places conflicting views on what their lighting conditions are - what are your personal experiences with these plants?

I'd like to use a dense sand (obviously nothing that is going to go flying around for days if my fish bump into it), but really have no idea on what is safe to use, and none of the LFS's have sand (crazy.. I know x.x).

The pebbles and 'rock cave' are just for decoration, but I'd like to get ahold of some java moss, or similar moss to attach to the rock, and possibly some along the empty space in between the pathways. I think that Riccia is beautiful, however I keep reading about having to reattach it every so often, and I keep getting these horror images of never being able to keep the stuff down (along with the high light requirement).... am I being a bit overdramatic? =P