new member - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 09-08-2005, 02:58 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Question new member

Hey everyone, just wanted to say hello and that I just signed up for this forum. I am looking forward to talking with everyone and learning more about this wonderful hobby.
I am new to all this and was recently put in charge at my work of stocking our empty 300 gallon. After much research, I have decided on an a planted Amazon biotope. I want a variety of Amazon plants and a large school of discus, a school of angels, a large school of cardinal tetras, and the necessary amount of cleanup crew fish and snails. I have about $3500 to work with. I've already ordered the filter, pump, and the gravel so I can start to get it cycled hopefully today, if it comes in.
I'm new so any help would be greatly appreciated.
I've done lots of research but am confused as to when to plant the plants. With water in or half way or what? and when in comparison to the cycling?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 09-08-2005, 03:11 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Send a message via AIM to Cheeseybacon Send a message via Yahoo to Cheeseybacon
Welcome to the Planted Tank!

If you have a succificent amount of plants to begin with (think fast growing stem plants) then cycling your tank isn't necessary since the plants will do an excellent job of absorbing ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates while your bio filter develops. Now that doesn't mean go stocking your tank to the max immediately on day one, but nevertheless the same laborious cycling that saltwater tanks undergo isn't necessarally a requirement for Planted Tanks.

Before you go any further, I STRONGLY suggest you read Rex's Guide in it's entirety, twice. Lotsa good info on there.