newbie ? about water - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-30-2005, 01:47 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
newbie ? about water

Hey guys i am new to the planted tank altogether. i am doing some research before i get started and i have a question about water. I have 3 reef tanks and i have an ro/di unit i use to make my water. Should i use ro/di water for a planted tank or should i use tap water with a dechlorinator. Sorry if this is a remedial ?. like i said i am completly new to planted tanks. i have an some fish goodies in my basement (empty 20 gal,hob filter, heater and some pcs) and thought i might try something new. i have a 55 too but i figured i would start with the 20 so i dont spend to much. any help would be great. thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-30-2005, 01:55 AM
Doesn't like Kool-Aid

PTrader: (52/100%)
What are your tap water parameters?

pH
GH
KH
NO3
PO4

?

Mike

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-30-2005, 02:04 AM Thread Starter

to be honest with you i havent checked my tap water in a long time. I just use the ro/di water because of my corals. best i recall the only thing i remeber being a little high was phosphates which is a big no no. i dont remeber a number to be honest with you though. i know that is not much help. i guess what i am asking though is will it hurt if i use ro/di?

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-30-2005, 02:12 AM
Doesn't like Kool-Aid

Straight RO/DI is just not going to work. The water is too stripped down. You need to carry a GH and KH, especially if you plan on injecting CO2.

I think you need a bit of a primer on the water parameters for a planted aquarium. Try looking at www.rexgrigg.com. That should get you started.

Mike

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 08-30-2005, 02:27 AM