crushed oyser shell? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-22-2005, 07:06 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Red face crushed oyser shell?

What is crushed oyster shell used for? Can you use it like gravel?
Newbie here...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-22-2005, 07:23 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Send a message via AIM to Cheeseybacon Send a message via Yahoo to Cheeseybacon
I think crushed shell substrates are more geared towards marine/reef tanks. If I recall correctly, it has a very high calcium content, which buffers your water and changes your gH and kH. The best substrate for a beginner planted tank would be flourite or eco-complete. Both grow plants very well and don't affect your water parameters quite as much.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-22-2005, 07:53 PM

good question...

how about for an economical substrate for the Chichlid tank.

does it grow plants?

I want to buy a bag and throw a little bit in the tank to provide some calcium for the Apple Snails, think they would eat it?

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-22-2005, 09:24 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed

Send a message via AIM to Cheeseybacon Send a message via Yahoo to Cheeseybacon
I think that gH levels will also be affected by Cichlid substrate. I also doubt the snails would gain calcium by eating the substrate. Snails eat algae, not rocks, right? The more likely scenario is that your snails will gain calcium directly from the water. If your water is already pretty hard, I wouldn't bother.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-26-2005, 05:44 PM

apple snails have teeth...