A beginner with a 20H - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2005, 08:16 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Send a message via AIM to metfan581
Arrow A beginner with a 20H

Hello,
I'm new to planted tanks and i was woundering if you guys can help. Let me start off by saying I have a twenty gallon, penguin 330 filter, bubble wall, gravel 150wt heater, glass canopey, and a hang on light fixture with a 18" 15W Nutrigrow Plant Bulb (ESU). I was wondering what will I need to start a planted tank?!?!

P.S. excuse the spelling and grammer
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2005, 08:29 PM
Algae Grower

PTrader: (8/100%)
Depends on what you want to grow. If you're going to grow the anubias/java fern/amazon sword commonly seen in most nyc petshops (stay away from the "green hedge." it's not a true aquatic), you're set.

If you want to grown anything else... You need stronger lighting, a better substrate than plain gravel, and some CO2.

I'm a newbie too, so I chose eco-complete due to it's simplicity (the tradeoff is price, of course). DIY CO2 info can be found HERE and HERE. And depending on the type of plants you choose, you're going to need a minimum of 40 to 60 watts.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 08-19-2005, 08:32 PM
eds

I'd recommend you start off with a little research. This has been addressed many a time here and elsewhere. There are all kinds of beginner guides just a google away.

You will have issues with your filter, no need for the bubble wall, and will need more lighting if you want to do anything more than keep a few low-light plants from dying. A pure gravel substrate should be supplemented, and then you will need to consider whether you wish to use CO2, and what you want to do in terms of ferts. If the tank holds water, at least you have that part covered!