Newbie questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-18-2005, 01:10 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Newbie questions

Hey all,

I am going to be setting up a 35 gallon hex tank pretty soon and I'm looking for some advice. I'm more concerned with the fish than the flora at this point, but would like some live plants to help keep the algae down, provide more oxygen for my fish and provide more aesthetics than fake plants. Since I am new to the live plants thing, I am planning on keeping the lighting a bit lower (~2WPG) so that I don't have to use any CO2. Will I still need to fertilize though? I have read that there are a lot of plants that get their nutrients through the water instead of through the substrate, so I was planning on going with those types and just putting down standard gravel (~1cm). Is this a bad idea? Will I still need to create a substrate with fertilized layers in the bottom? Also, can someone recommend some plants that will do ok in this environment (low light)? I don't need anything that is too fast growing; just something that will keep the algae away.

Thanks for any help guys

-Mike
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-18-2005, 01:26 PM

i was able to manage to keep amazon swords , anubias , javamoss and java ferns under 2 wpg. hope this helps
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-18-2005, 01:29 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (4/100%)
If all you are looking for is plants that help suck up nitrates and excess nutrients then you probably want maybe a floating plant. I am not sure what plant will root well with only 1cm of substrate anyways.

Maybe anacharis or hornwort.

That or you can use java moss to attach to the gravel and have it spread across to give you a thick carpet without having much substrate. You might be able to use java ferns as well since they feed with their roots exposed to the water.