Major Tank Problems--long - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-15-2005, 11:20 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Major Tank Problems--long

Okay--I am new at this, please bear with me. Have a 30 gallon cube (Oceanic) aquarium, that is my first planted tank, I am learning on this one, because I am gathering equipment to set up a 75 gallon planted.
My tank was being filtered by a biowheel, I added on an XP-1 filter, and after advice from here, I removed the biowheel to increase my CO2, and also removed the biochemzorb packet from the filter. That was about 1 week ago. The problem is, the tank doesn't have enough "flow" to stir up the c**p in the water, the water has turned brownish, smells and has a nice layer of scum on top. I have done 2 partial water changes this week and then due to work commitments I did nothing to it for 4 days, except fertilize. It is really foul today. The water parameters are fine, pH 6.8. gH 5, kH 5, no ammonia, no nitrites or nitrates and I do have CO2. What I have done today is set up my old HOT Magnum 350 filter with carbon (major flow in this size tank) and now the water is clearing nicely. I am planning on doing a water change next. How do I manage this tank and what can I do for flow on my future 75 gallon to increase flow and keep surface turbulence down for CO2 purposes? Would the plants get enough carbon if I skipped the CO2 tank and just used Excel? (not taking cost into consideration).
PS So far for filtration on the 75 gallon, I have bought an XP3, and planned on using my current XP1 on it, but I know now that will in no way be enough.
Help help help!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-16-2005, 12:25 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast