Identify my type of CO2 - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-15-2005, 09:39 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Identify my type of CO2

I'm currently running a 29g with some Java Fern and Carolina Fanwort and some unknown grass starter given by my LFS. I'm supplying Co2 via a cannister ( like insecticide) and I just pump more into the water (via a 'upturned' bottle) whenever it runs low. Is this a good method to supply Co2? What is this method called? I'm a beginner
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-15-2005, 12:08 PM

PTrader: (28/100%)
Well from one noob to another. . . . so would you say the co2 system ("canister") is high-pressure? It sounds like you must be doing alot of testing if you are manually adjusting the co2 flow. If you could find the "uptake rate" of your plants, then set the co2 at that rate it would be easier than manually adjusting.

The upside-down bottle is not very effective, it's typically more efficient to use a design that incorporates a powerhead/pump.

If you could explain your setup a little better, on the out-of-aquarium side, that would be helpful.

BTW, how are your plants growing? Any algae troubles?
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-17-2005, 01:32 AM Thread Starter

Hi, thanks for ur reply. I've got a pic of the co2 set up as shown>

Anyone using this setup? Any comments? The plants seems to be growing fine. There are also traces of algae, though not much

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-17-2005, 01:41 AM

PTrader: (3/100%)
Well I guess I havent seen everything ! LOL
Thats a new setup to me but I can see the premise behind it. It will work but I aint too crazy about the can of CO2. Once that runs out you could just use a yeast mix and give it a constant feed of CO2 for much less money Im sure.

Be sure to have the bell in an area with good water flow passing it to get good results.