Month old planted aquarium, and advice or direction is helpful (W/ Pictures) - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 12-08-2012, 01:41 PM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (4/100%)
Month old planted aquarium, and advice or direction is helpful (W/ Pictures)

I want to introduce myself, My name is Cory I lover in Raleigh, NC. I am new to the planted aquarium. I have 2 Dispaly tanks, a hospital tank, and a terrarium for my Pastel Ball Python. Now on to the planted tank...

I set this aquarium up about a month ago. I really wanted to get into more of a peaceful, natural look, because I have always had my 125 gallon CA/SA Cichlid aquarium.

Just to give you guys some idea about where I am at with my planted tank so far:

Size: 55 gallon

Inhabitants: 5 Angelfish, 2 Super Red Plecod, 3 Oto Catfish, and 6 Black Neon Tetras

Plants: 3 Anubias Barteri, 1 Anubias Nana, 3 Amazon Swords, Pellia, Java Moss, Lutea, Micro Swords, Water Sprite, Wisteria, Duckweed (Slowly trying to get rid of), and dwarf hairgrass.

Fertilizer: Seachem Flourish Comprehensive, Seachem Root Tabs for Swords and Lutea, and Seachem Equilibrium (I have very soft water, and need to stabilize the minerals in my tank)

Lighting: Dual 48" Shoplight, with 2 T8 6,500K bulbs, on 10 hours of the day.

Substrate: Pool Filter Sand

Background: Black Paint

Filter: Emperor 400, but will be changing to a Eheim 2215 here in the next few days.

Food: Feeding Tropical flakes and sinking algae waffers.

As you can tell, I am going the low tech route. I just want to see how everything looks to you guys. If you have any advice on anything, even aquascaping, please feel free to express them. I am open to all.

Here are some pics of when I first set it up and how it looks now.

55 Gallon Planted

Fish
3 GBR, 2 Bolivian Rams, 1 Juvenile Super Red BN Plecos, 9 Oto Catfish, 9 Bloodfin Tetras
Plants