Maybe time for a do-over? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 11-26-2012, 12:39 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
Maybe time for a do-over?

I have this 5 gallon plastic tank that I have been pondering over for about 8 months. I can't keep anything alive in it, besides plants. I think even the pond snails have called it quits. So I'm thinking of ripping everything out and starting over; I have a 10 gallon sitting empty anyway! But I figured I should try to figure out a few things first.

I've done extensive water testing on this tank, and the pH is consistently higher than any other tank I keep. I even have peat in the filter and it's still high - about 8. I have a 20g running at 7.4 - 7.6. I removed the 'lace rock' I had in the tank as that was causing some of the problem.

My substrate so far is a mix of laterite with black exoterra sand. I've tested the sand for its effects on water quality outside the tank, and I'm pretty sure that's not the problem. I've asked on a different forum about people using this in tanks, and none of those people have experienced problems.

I'm using a Zoo med 501 on the tank, filled with lava rock, a bag of peat and the sponge that it comes with. Pretty sure no problem there... unless the peat isn't really peat? I'm using those peat pellets from Home Depot you can use for starting seeds. The ones that are compressed and then balloon up in size when they are wet.

The tank has a couple anubias, a cypress, saggitaria subulata, Brasiliensis mauritiana, and a wack of different crypts. Over all this time the anubias have not put out any new leaves. They aren't dead, just no new leaves. I'm not adding any ferts or root tabs so that's probably a major reason. I'm not really worried, and I've only been dealing with brown algae.