It has finally pearled!!!!!!!! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-25-2005, 04:17 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (86/100%)
It has finally pearled!!!!!!!!

This week marks week 1, that I will be dosing the EI method. After doing a 50% water change, and removing almost 30% of the algae in my tank, I dosed 1/18 of KNO3, 1/8 of KH2PO4, and 1/32 of K2SO4 and within 30minutes to an hour, the rotala indica, and java fern were pearling like a glass of champaign! The other plants were also pearling but not as much.

Dry ferts rock!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-25-2005, 05:39 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
glad to hear it.. I didn;t know proper fertilization could bring such quick results. What is the EI methoid you're talking about?? could you shed some light on the way you dose your ferts, how much, when, water changes, ect... Im a newb and would appreteate some advice on how to does fertilizers.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-25-2005, 05:49 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

The EI method is the Estimative Index that Tom Barr created, basically you dose more than usual and do large amounts of water changes.

I bought my dry ferts from www.gregwatson.com , I also bought measuring spoons so that it will be convient for me to dose. I take a small amount of water from the tank and dissolve and pour in each fert at a time.

post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-25-2005, 05:58 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

cool, I'll take a look at that "EI" methoid your talking about.. As for the ferts I was refering too, how do you know what ferts to add to existing water, and how much. Basicly I'm asking... How does one knoe how much macro nutrience and pottasium to add to the water. Nobody can have a test kits for every single minneral they add?
also, what test kits do you have on hand???

I only keep fert test kits for Nitrate and phosphate, what about you?