Tests and Ferts? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-23-2005, 04:59 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (28/100%)
Tests and Ferts?

Hi all,

Tests-

Since I am new to this wonderful hobby and still waiting for some of my equipment to arrive. I started thinking about what test kits I would need? Which test kits are reliable I thought to myself? Why not ask the people who know?

Figured I would need a good nitrate test kit and a phosphate test kit at the minimum. I already have a gh....kh...ph.....nitrite and few others already. My current nitrate is about empty.

1. So I ask you all what Test products you think are reliable? I think I have read seachem is but want to get your input. Also what if any other tests are crucial? plz lemme know.

Ferts-

I have been reading and think I will be going with the EI method for dosing. I now know that I should be testing during my cycle to decide when to start dosing. Thanks to this board I checked out Gregg Watson fert site and it appears to be a great resource for chemicals. A one stop shop. I thought I should start with just the basics (I am still trying to digest all of this reading I have been doing) and not go with the premixed.

2. Are these the mainstay of ferts? This is what I am thinking of buying. If you have anything to add plz lemme know.

KNO3
KH2PO4
K2SO4
FLOURISH EXCEL
FLOURISH

Once again thanks you all for your participation in this forum. I have learned a great deal reading here. In fact I spent so many hours in front of this computer reading my wife might have me sleeping on the couch soon!

riverrat
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-23-2005, 12:13 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
If you are going to add CO2 then you really don't need the Flourish Excel.

If you want the gold standard of test kits then you want Lamotte or Hach.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-23-2005, 01:59 PM

PTrader: (9/100%)