How do you keep it clean? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-14-2005, 06:12 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
How do you keep it clean?

Hi all. I'm a newbie here and had a couple of questions for you more experienced aquarists.

I've never had live plants before. I'm all for cleanliness and usually use both an undergravel filter and a power filter, along with the monthly vacuuming of gravel with a siphon. I've always used plastic plants, so it didn't matter if some of them uprooted during the process and, actually, I liked this because it allowed me to rearrange as the whim took me.

Now I'm becoming more interested in adding live plants to my next aquarium setup and am wondering how do you keep it clean? Browsing through the photo album on this forum (there are some beautiful tanks on there!), I see that often the bottom of the tank is literally covered with plants. This eliminates the possibility of using a siphon...so how do you guys clean up the inevitable accumulation of detritus in the gravel?

Any advice would be much appreciated. I don't want to go into this until I'm sure I can handle it.

PS: I currently have a little 1g tank with a betta in it and a couple of small live plants. What kind of fertilizer should I use in there to keep the plants at their optimum health? Again, thanks for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 07-14-2005, 06:22 PM

PTrader: (0/0%)