First Time Doing Planted -- Questions. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-11-2005, 03:45 AM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
First Time Doing Planted -- Questions.

I recently upgraded my reef tank from my 46 bowfront to a 125 gallon. This means my 46 bowfront is empty. I've decided to try my hand at a planted aquarium. I've never done planted aquariums before. Freshwater for a while before but not planted.

My equipment will be :

1. 46 Gallon Tank
2. 150W Metal Halide lighting
3. 2" of Seachem Flourite under another 1-2" of gravel.
4. Hang on filter for charcoal and mechanical filtration ( no biowheel ).

I plan on using Flourish (tm) and a DIY CO2 system.

For water should I use treated tap or should I use RO water with RO Right supplement ? I'm in the Chicago area and the water is pulled from Lake Michigan.

Also the lighting is presently a 10K bulb can I use that or should I replaced it with an 6-8k bulb ? Its an expensive bulb so if I can get by with it for a while I'd like to.

Also are there any really good freshwater fish stores selling a good selection of plants in the western chicago burbs or should I go and order online. There are lots with plants but all have a very small selection that I've seen.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 07-11-2005, 04:24 AM
Are these real?

PTrader: (195/100%)
Hi there festus, welcome to the Planted Tank World

In no particular order:

Planted Tanks and charcoal don't get along very well, just plan on mechanical filtration for particles and current and things will be good. Regular water changes with tapwater will keep things fresh.
The 10000K bulb should be fine, plants won't mind the crisp look as long as it isn't actinic.
Flourish provides micro nutrients, plan also on supplying nitrates, potassium and phosphates once plants grow like crazy.