I want to start slowly - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-10-2005, 02:05 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
I want to start slowly

I've been reading a lot on planted tanks and I still can't figure out what is right for me. I am going to be setting up a 90 gallon community fw tank I would like to have live plants but want to move slowly as I am too excited about the fish I want to get I am not sure how much into aquascaping I will be getting into since I've never done it before. What you experts have in terms of equipment really scare me. In any event, I want to be conservative in case I find out it is not for me.

1. Substrate: I purchased gravel but am confused if I should do a 50/50 mixture of flourite and gravel. How important is that?

2. Lighting: I'm considering purchasing CF http://www.drsfostersmith.com/produc...1&N=2004&Nty=1

However, I initially do not want high light at this point and it was suggested to me that I replace two of the bulbs with 50/50 lighting to get medium light.

3. Test Kits: Do I need them (specific to planting)

4. Fertilizers: do I need them?

5. CO2: Don't really want to get into this for awhile. What should I do to avoid having to use C02?

Thanks for your help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 07-10-2005, 02:15 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (65/100%)
Let's start out by stating there is a difference between a tank with a few plants in it and a planted tank. You have to decide where to go.

Then take a few minutes and read my Guide.

The light you are looking at will work. But the idea of putting in some 50/50 bulbs is a disaster waiting to happen. I myself prefer to work with AH Supply kits. That way you can start with lower light and move up just by adding more kits. If you want lower light and want a commercial fixture then get one that allows you to switch off some of the bulbs.