new tank project - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-08-2012, 02:52 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
new tank project

My boss found out today I like fish tanks so he asked me to setup one up at work. That seems normal right but the thing is I work at a waste water treatment plant I'm a water/waste water operator. My boss wants me to setup up the tank with effluent water which is waste water that we have treated and send out to the stream, since we but it out in a stream he wants to see if the fish can live in it and if we are doing our job proper.what is everyone's opinion on this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-08-2012, 03:14 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (10/100%)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stump26 View Post
My boss found out today I like fish tanks so he asked me to setup one up at work. That seems normal right but the thing is I work at a waste water treatment plant I'm a water/waste water operator. My boss wants me to setup up the tank with effluent water which is waste water that we have treated and send out to the stream, since we but it out in a stream he wants to see if the fish can live in it and if we are doing our job proper.what is everyone's opinion on this?
if its treated should be ok. just treat for chlorine and such. I mean ultimately its not any different then what comes out of our tap right?

Do a small 10 gallon test tank or something

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

Sump Pimp #8
RAOK Clubber #28
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-08-2012, 03:18 PM
Planted Tank Guru

I think it is a very important step to see if your finished water is acceptable.

Push for a large tank (minimum 50 gallons or so, I would think, but I could see a really nice 125 gallon, 6' long tank) and use small native fish and plants that are fairly local to the location you release the water. Make it as accurate as possible.