Getting started -- basic questions - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-05-2005, 06:25 PM Thread Starter

PTrader: (0/0%)
Getting started -- basic questions

Hello out there! Let me introduce myself. I've been a marine hobbyist for several years and I'm now wanting to get started with freshwater aquascaping. Someone forwarded me to this board and I was hoping to get some answers from experienced hobbyists. So while I'm a newbie to the planted tank world, I do have a pretty good understanding of how systems work. I've started reading some of the archives to get info, but you know how it is -- I could search all day for bits and pieces and still not find all the info I'm looking for. So I'm hoping you'll be willing to help.

As a hobbyist/hack scientist, I appreciate the opportunity to learn through trial-and-error, but I don't want to make mistakes that will kill a load of plants and fish or cause undo stress. I figure that if I start with a solid foundation of good filtration, flow, lighting and substrate, I can enjoy experimenting with plants, fish, chemistry, aquascaping, etc. At least I hope I'm on the right course.

I'm starting with a 75G glass tank with overflow. For lighting I've got a T5 set-up with 6 tubes, 3 daylight and 3 actinic. My filtration system is typical reef -- sump with refugium powered by a Lifeguard Quiet One (high head) pump through a chiller. I've learned that I need to lose the sump and switch to canister filtration. And I think I need to change some of the bulbs in my hood. So here are some questions that I'm hoping you (all) can help with.

1. Is my lighting adequate for a freshwater planted tank? What are the optimum parameters for a well-lit tank (watts/gallon, spectrum, etc.)? Are there brands that are better then others?