Dosing ferts to kill hair algae? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-26-2012, 12:29 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
Exclamation Dosing ferts to kill hair algae?

Ok, so I posted a thread yesterday to see how to kill hair algae from growing on my java moss in my 2week old aquarium yesterday.

https://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...d.php?t=188363

The re-sounding advice was to dose with excel flourish, keep lights on less, and do a water change. (That's what I picked out of it anyway.)

I tested my water today.

The readings I got were:

gh 180
kh 120
ph 6.0
no2 0
no3 0
ammonia 0

I must admit. I'm a beginner at reading the results and don't really know what it all means.

But I did a bit of research and I think those readings are good, right? I'm gonna do another test tomorrow and see if its all the same...

But back to the point. I've read that in low tech aquariums you dont need to dose fertilizer. I ordered a bottle of excel flourish today, but will I be doing more harm than good?

Is flourish liquid c02?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-26-2012, 04:00 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (18/100%)
Flourish excel is a liquid carbon that the plants can use(not as good as co2), and it also can be used as an algaecide
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-26-2012, 09:20 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (37/100%)
I think they mean to spot treat with excel. Meaning, turn off your filters and get out the syringe and squirt it. You could also have used h2o2, which works for me and is significantly cheaper...

Anyway, excel is not any sort of fertilizer per se so it won't mess with your parameters directly.

RAOK club #37

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
|