Why do people still use DIY CO2? Am I missing something? - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 08-06-2012, 03:09 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (105/100%)
Why do people still use DIY CO2? Am I missing something?

You can buy a regulator, diffuser and tank for pretty cheap nowadays. Is there a reason why people still use DIY CO2? I have never done DIY before but it looks like a giant mess constantly trying to mix various concoctions. Is there something that I am not aware of when it comes to DIY? I purchased my first regulator/bottle in 2005 back in college when I just got into planted tanks....I can't believe that 7 years later people are still using DIY.

I am not bashing even though it does sound like it a bit. But I am genuinely curious if there are any benefits to DIY....
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 08-06-2012, 03:13 AM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

PTrader: (0/0%)
DIY is a good way to "stick your toe into the pool"... just to see if a planted aquarium is something you're interested in. If this is just a passing interest, the only thing you're out is a couple bucks for a 2L bottle, sugar, some fittings, and a packet of bakers yeast.

It's also dramatically more difficult to gas the aquarium to death with DIY. It can be done, but very unlikely.

But yes, DIY is a huge PITA and I only ran that setup for a couple months. For me, I found that pouring off about 50% of the liquid, once a week and replacing it with fresh water & sugar would keep things humming along. I quickly moved onto a 20-pounder and a re-purposed welding reg.

Last edited by proaudio55; 08-06-2012 at 03:48 AM. Reason: typo
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 08-06-2012, 03:14 AM
Planted Member

PTrader: (18/100%)
What's cheaper than a 2 liter bottle, yeast and sugar?

I started with DIY CO2, then came to pressurized. DIY was a great eye opener.

C. Smith