Treating ICK With Temperature & Salt - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-04-2012, 01:34 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (14/100%)
Treating ICK With Temperature & Salt

The ICK is back... This time it's in my 10 gallon tank. I lost a pleco already and my other 4 Platy's are still alive.

I started raising the temperature this morning from 74F-80F. By tomorrow I will have it up to 85F where I will keep it for 10 days.

I did a 50% water change today, and plan to do this daily for 1 week.

Also, I added 2 tablespoons of aquarium salt to the tank.

This is my first attempt to treat ICK with salt and temperature only...

Am I doing this correctly?

Here's the kicker, this morning when I noticed the ICK I also notice that my Platy's had fry. I trapped 13 in a floating breeder trap.

Any suggestion at all?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-04-2012, 01:57 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (90/100%)
Send a message via AIM to A Hill
Have you considered methalyn blue?

Not the best for the plants but the best for the fish.

I used to have a lot of ich problems before I stopped buying fish from anyone besides members here.

-Andrew
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-04-2012, 04:52 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)
You are doing the heat and salt correctly.
If you have a UV sterilizer, or are willing to buy one, that is a very good addition. It will work with salt in the water.
The more water changes you can do the better, but the goal is to vacuum the floor of the tank. Ich falls to the floor to breed, and you can vacuum out a lot of the breeders daily or every other day.

Maintain treatment until at least a week past the day you see the last Ich on the fish. That last Ich could have escaped being vacuumed and could reproduce. Keep the treatment going to kill the possible babies from that last Ich.