I'm new to fish tanks, I just bought a 55 gallon tank. I need help! - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-28-2012, 01:26 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
I'm new to fish tanks, I just bought a 55 gallon tank. I need help!

I just bought a 55 gallon tank it came with a stand, filter and two 24 inch 19 watt lights, all for $100. I'm interested in having small turtles/goldfish in it, any tips/dos/don'ts? The last tank I owned was 15 yeas ago and 3 gallons.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-28-2012, 01:36 AM
Planted Tank Obsessed

PTrader: (4/100%)
100 bucks was a pretty good steal depending on what kind of filter.

If you plan on getting goldfish or turtles do not get plants unless they are top floaters unless you want them eaten.

To better assist you let us know what kind of filter you have? This will let us know if you need to upgrade for goldfish/turtles as they are very high polluters and require tons of filtration.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-28-2012, 01:45 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

The only thing the filter says is "Aqua-Tech 30-60" there are two filter units. The inside and outside of the tanks need to be cleaned. What can i clean it with?

post #4 of 29 (permalink) Old 07-28-2012, 02:29 AM
Wannabe Guru

Send a message via AIM to CatB Send a message via Skype™ to CatB
55g is a little small for turtles IMO, there's no turtle that really stays that small haha...
plus they need heated water, being reptiles, and goldfish are coldwater fish. also turtles will eat goldfish. i'd either do just goldfish or go with something else.