setting up a plant ONLY tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-25-2012, 11:11 PM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (28/100%)
setting up a plant ONLY tank

Hey everyone,

So I got into planted tanks this summer and set up 2 of them at home, a 40 gallon Amazon tank, and a 10 gallon Southeast Asia tank. I'm heading back up to school in a month or so and I wanted to set up a completely planted "tank". Being that I am a college student with good knowledge of DIY, I was thinking of setting up a very very cheap tank just to grow plants and maybe sell them on here or locally up at school. My idea:

Tank: big clear storage tubs from walmart
Substrate: some cheap gravel-like substrate (or dirt if I can do that)
Fertilizer: I have Osmocote Plus so I may use that and sell Osmocote gelcaps as well. Then maybe use the GLA NPK+micros dry ferts.
Lighting: wire up some cheap CFL bulbs for high lighting
CO2: like 8 bottles of yeast (8 being a random number) to produce a good amount of CO2.

This will give me something to do and maybe fund college for me. At least the food and more fish and plants for home fund.

Anything else I would need? I would like to keep it all plants and have the ability to grow different plants. I realize using a tub from walmart kinda bastardizes the hobby. But I am a college student I have to cut corners where I can.

Thanks

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|

|

RAOK Club #72
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-25-2012, 11:36 PM
Wannabe Guru

PTrader: (1/100%)
Something to make sure the water stays moving. I keep plants and animals in plastic totes and have used a tote to temporarily sump a tank.
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-26-2012, 12:33 AM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (0/0%)