pool filter sand. - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-21-2012, 06:35 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

PTrader: (0/0%)
pool filter sand.

I am looking to start using a different substrate in my planted tank besides rocks. I have vals, a sprite, 1 sword, some hairgrass, and a moth ball..

Now, I want to start using maybe pool filter sand. I know it has silica in it, and I am wondering if it would be harmful to my fish and plants.

I have 1 hifin platy, neon tetras, an oto, and alot of glass shrimp.

Would it be better for my shrimp to use sand rather than rocks?

If this sand is harmful, what do you recommend I use?

Any information would be great as I am new to all of this
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-22-2012, 08:46 AM
Planted Member

Pool filter sand is good stuff. Consistent in size, relatively clean, and doesn't compact much at all. I'm using in in one of my tanks right now. Ya, there's silica, but its really hard to avoid. (You should see the diatom algae detonation I set off with lava rock lol)

Just avoid play sand. That stuff might as well be dirt.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-22-2012, 03:54 PM
Planted Tank Guru

Silica as in play or pool filter sands, some gravel and other sources is not a problem for fish or plants in an aquarium. It can trigger the growth of 'Brown Algae', also known as Diatoms. (Google for images, they are really interesting seen under a 'scope').

The secret is to remove the silica as fast as possible. Allow the diatoms to grow, they are filtering the silica out of the water and incorporating it into their body. If they are allowed to die in the tank that silica gets recycled into more diatoms.