HC carpet question - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

PTrader: (3/100%)
HC carpet question

Hi everybody. I'm a newbie in planted tanks and ive been lurking and browsing thru the forum for a couple days. I am planning to setup a planted tank with HC carpet. I really like the look of it and would like to try. However, i have zero knowledge about it. I have a 16 gallon bowfront tank and i ordered a 20" solar fixture from Catalina. I believe its 72w. I would like to know if DIY co2 would be enough to grow an HC carpet. Also, i have seen people here who do a dry start method in planting them. I would like to get some advice as to the best way to plant HC. I saw on aquabid a seller who has HC carpet grown in coconut husk, id like to know if its easier to just buy that as opposed to getting several potted HC and plant it. I also plan to add a few beginner plants such as nana anubias, crypts and cabomba. Fish will be a group of cardinal tetras. I would appreciate all the inputs that you guys have and thanks in advance!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 01:36 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (23/100%)
There's nothing special to HC. Light, CO2, good nutrients and trimming keeps a good carpet. I'd just buy a few portions and do a submersed start. It prefers higher CO2 levels and light in my experience. Excel helps as well. It may also help in the early stages to make sure you don't have so much flow that it blows the HC up. Once it gets rooted well you can do whatever. Treat it like a nice grass lawn.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 07-12-2012, 05:45 PM
Planted Tank Guru

PTrader: (8/100%)